Responsive Ad Slot




Buhay Pinay



Philippine News

Join us at Facebook!

‘NCR Plus 4’ down to MECQ, as Covid-19 cases near 865k

11 April 2021

By The SUN

Despite the lockdown, thousands lined up for 'ayuda' or financial assistance

The Philippines government will ease the quarantine restrictions in Metro Manila or the National Capital Region (NCR) and four adjacent provinces starting tomorrow, Monday.

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque announced today, Apr 11, that the five areas will be placed under the less stringent modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), citing as one of the reasons the pledge of hospitals to increase beds for Covid-19 cases.


His announcement came as the Department of Health reported another spike in the number of new coronavirus cases. Sunday’s 11,681 new cases pushed the country’s overall tally to 864,868. Of the total tally, 145,519 cases remain active, or 16.9% of the total.

But with the economy coming at a virtual standstill for the past 14 days because of the lockdown under the previous enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) arrangement, businesses had been calling for a resumption of activities.


According to Roque, the move to MECQ was approved by President Rodrigo Duterte at the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Covid-19 response.

But he said the details of the new quarantine arrangement will be known only during his regular press briefing on Monday.


At least one notable change has been reported, though, which was the shortening of the curfew hours in Metro Manila from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. Previously, the curfew was from 6 p.m. to 5 a.m.

The change was announced in a statement by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), which said the shortened curfew hours will last from Apr 12 to 30.

Pindutin para sa detalye

No similar announcement was made for the four provinces that will move to MECQ along with Metro Manila.

The curfew in Metro Manila will be shortened by 2 hours

Roque said the MECQ will also be enforced in Abra and the city of Santiago in Quirino province.

Meanwhile, the following areas will be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ), which is a degree lower in severity than MECQ:

-Cordillera Administrative Region

Call us!

-Batangas province

-Tacloban City

-Iligan City

-Davao City

-Lanao del Sur province

Tunghayan ang isa na namang kwentong 

-Quezon province

The rest of the country will be placed under modified GCQ.

ECQ was imposed on the so-called NCR Plus bubble on Mar 29 in the wage of a surge in Covid-19 cases in the area.

Originally intended to last for only seven days over the long Holy Week break, the order was extended for another week as record numbers of infections were being reported each day.


Don't Miss