Responsive Ad Slot




Buhay Pinay



Philippine News

Join us at Facebook!

Singapore among 7 countries downgraded to 'high risk'

17 May 2021

By The SUN

Stricter boarding & quarantine rules are enforced for travelers from 'high-risk' places

Hong Kong has announced that seven countries currently experiencing an upsurge in Covid-19 infections will be relegated to the category B “high risk” status: Argentina, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, the Netherlands and Singapore.

A statement issued by the government said the move was taken because of the persistent unstable epidemic situation in these places, and the widespread transmission of cases involving “the more transmissible and potentially more serious mutant virus strains.”


Among those included in this category currently are the United States, Canada, France, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Turkey, Russia, Romania, Kazakshtan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ecuador, Bangladesh, Indonesia and the United Arab Emirates.

Designated as “very high-risk” (A2) are the United Kingdom, South Africa and Ireland, while classified as “extremely high-risk (A1)” and therefore subject to a flight ban are the Philippines, India, Pakistan and Nepal.

Pindutin para sa detalye

The downgrade to “high risk” means everyone coming from these countries must be returning residents, who will be subjected to more stringent boarding and quarantine restrictions.

Everyone who has stayed in the designated places on the day of boarding or 14 days  before, will have to present a negative test result for a nucleic acid test for Covid-19 taken within 72 hours before boarding.

Call now!

In addition, those who aren’t fully vaccinated should present a confirmed booking for a 21-day quarantine at a designated hotel.

If the traveler has taken two doses of a Covid-19 vaccine at least 14 days before the travel date, the quarantine is cut to 14 days, but a confirmed hotel booking must also be presented.


On arrival at the airport, each traveler will be tested again, and won’t be allowed to move to their quarantine hotel until their test shows a negative result.  

Previously, the places identified were on medium to low-risk status, meaning travelers from there need not present a negative Covid-10 test result prior to boarding. 

Tunghayan ang isa na namang kwentong Dream Love.

For low-risk countries where Singapore used to belong, even non-residents were allowed to enter Hong Kong, and the quarantine period could be reduced to seven days for vaccinated travelers. The only countries left in this category now are Australia and New Zealand.

Details on the grouping of specified places and their respective boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements can be found at



Don't Miss