Responsive Ad Slot




Buhay Pinay



Philippine News

Join us at Facebook!

Phl accepts HK vaccination record for shorter quarantine

31 July 2021

By Daisy CL Mandap 

You can use your HK vaccination record to quarantine for 7 days in Phl

If you’re returning to the Philippines from Hong Kong and you’re fully vaccinated you can use the vaccination record issued to you here so you can enjoy the shorter hotel quarantine period of seven days, instead of the regular 10 days.

This was announced by the Philippine Consulate in an advisory posted on its Facebook page late on Jul 29.


According to the advisory, “all inbound travelers to the Philippines who have been fully vaccinated in Hong Kong may present either of the following documents: vaccination card/record issued in Hong Kong or international certificate of vaccination.”

As of now, Hong Kong still does not issue the international certificate as the vaccination record it issues to each person is linked to a centralized system and is easily verifiable and downloadable through electronic means.

The Consulate says HK vaccination records can be presented on arrival in the PHL

Since Hong Kong is included in the list of “green” countries or territories, arrivals from here can enjoy the shortened quarantine period of seven days in a designated isolation facility.

Call us!

Previously, the Inter-Agency Task Force which sets out the Philippines’ pandemic-related policies had instructed overseas Filipino workers coming from green places to have their vaccination records verified at the Philippine Overseas Labor Office to enjoy shorter quarantine.

No word was given then as to how non-OFWs could enjoy the same benefit.


Reacting to the announcement, Consul General Raly Tejada said that he would work on having the nearly fool-proof vaccination records issued by Hong Kong to be recognized in the Philippines.

The IATF, through Resolution 123-C, approved on Jun 28, agreed to shorten the quarantine for arriving passengers from “green” countries, so long as they have received two doses of a Covid-19 vaccine at least 14 days earlier.

Pindutin para sa detalye

“Green” countries are those classified by the Department of Health as “’low-risk countries or jurisdictions based on disease incidence rate.”

HK's high vaccination rate and low infection rate qualify it for the 'green' lane

On Jul 22, the IATF further modified the protocols for fully vaccinated individuals who can avail of the shortened quarantine in an isolation facility under Resolution 128-A.


They must now meet four conditions:

1)      They must make sure their port of origin is a “green” country or jurisdiction, and they stayed there exclusively in the past 14 days before arriving in the Philippines.

2)      They must also be fully vaccinated, whether in the Philippines or abroad, and their vaccination status can be independently verified by Philippine authorities as valid and authentic upon their arrival in the country.

3)      Fully vaccinated individuals using the green lanes will have to take a reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) test on their fifth day in the country.

4)      Even if they test negative, they are still required to complete the seven-day quarantine. If they test positive, prescribed isolation protocols must be followed.

Inbound travelers who come from a place not designated as “green” or who stayed outside a green country of jurisdiction in the past 14 days cannot avail of the 7-day quarantine.

The same applies for those whose vaccination status cannot be verified as authentic upon their arrival in the country.

The updated list issued by IATF designates the following as green countries or jurisdictions: Albania, American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Azerbaijan, Benin, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cayman Islands, Chad, China, Comoros, Cote d’ Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Dominica, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea,Falkland Islands, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Hong Kong SAR, Hungary, Kosovo, Laos, Mali, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Poland, Romania, Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands), Saint Barthelemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Singapore, Sint Eustatius, Slovakia,Taiwan, Togo.

Noticeably absent are the United States, Canada, and all West European countries including the United Kingdom.

The Philippines has also imposed a ban until Aug 15 on passengers coming from the following countries, in a bid to contain the spread of the Delta variant of the coronavirus: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand.



Don't Miss